Team Members

Prof. Dr. David Franklin

Prof. Franklin studied human physiology and was awarded a Ph.D. in 2005 from the Department of Kinesiology at Simon Fraser University (Canada) in Ted Milner's group. He worked as a researcher at the Advanced Telecommunications Research Institute (Kyoto, Japan) from 1999 to 2006 in the laboratory of Mitsuo Kawato. He then spent 3 years as a post-doctoral fellow in Daniel Wolpert's group in the Department of Engineering, University of Cambridge (U.K.). In 2010 he was awarded a Wellcome Trust RCD Fellowship and started the Neuromechanics Group at the University of Cambridge. In 2016, he moved to TUM as the Professor for Neuromuscular Diagnostics.

email: david.franklin (at)


Postdoctoral Fellows

Dr. Raz Leib

Raz Leib received his Ph.D from the Biomedical Engineering department at Ben-Gurion University in 2016. He then worked as a short-term post-doctoral fellow at the biomedical-robotic laboratory (BGU) before moving to TUM in June 2018. He is interested in the conditioning of feedback gains.

email: raz.leib (at)

Dr. Eva-Maria Reuter

Eva-Maria studied Sport Sciences at Bielefeld University and received her Ph.D in Human Performance from Jacobs University Bremen in 2014. After the completion of her doctoral studies, Eva temporarily took on a Lecture Position and Rostock University. In 2015 she was awarded a competitive research fellowship at The University of Queensland and worked as a postdoctoral researcher at the UQ School of Human Movement and Nutrition Sciences in Timothy Carroll’s Lab. Since October 2020 Eva is a Marie Skłodowska-Curie Fellow (Eurotech Postdoc Fellowship program) at TUM. Eva is interested in age-related changes in motor learning and control as well as in the interactions between cognitive and motor functioning across the lifespan.

Doctoral Students

Justinas Cesonis

Justinas Cesonis studied Engineering at the University of Cambridge, graduating with a Masters degree. He moved to TUM in 2016 and is working on a PhD investigating computational models of motor control. His specific interests include feedback modulation and control of human reaching movement.

email: justinas.cesonis (at)

Marion Forano

After studying Kinesiology at the Universities of Ottawa (Canada), Clermont-Ferrand and Nice Sophia Antipolis (France), Marion Forano graduated in 2016, with a Master degree in Human Movement Sciences from Aix-Marseille University (France). Her Master research project focused on the role of vision and proprioception in online control. She started her PhD in September 2016 at TUM, working on human motor learning and the formation of motor memories in human reaching movements.

email: marion.forano (at)

Clara Günter

Clara Günter received her Master's degree in Biomedical Engineering from Chalmers University of Technology in 2019. Her master's thesis focussed on sensory feedback by electrical stimulation of peripheral nerves in amputees. She moved to TUM in March 2019 and is working on human motor control, specifically related to different feedback modalities in grasping.

email: clara.guenter (at)

Jonathan Orschiedt

After his studies of Sport and Performance (BSc) at the German Sport University in Cologne, Jonathan Orschiedt worked as the Head of Athletic Training & Rehabilitation in the Youth Academy of the 1. FC Kaiserslautern. After graduating with a Master’s degree in Sport and Exercise Science from TUM in 2019, he started his PhD at the Chair of Neuromuscular Diagnostics. His master’s thesis and his research interest focuses on the influence of the learning context on the control strategies of bimanual reaching movements.

Ziyu Chen

Ziyu Chen received his B.Sc. and M.Sc. in Mechanical Engineering respectively from Tsinghua University and the University of Tokyo. He joined in 2019 and works at Munich School of Robotics and Machine Intelligence (MSRM) as part of the Geriatronics Project. His R&D interests include kinematics, kinetics, and dynamic modeling of the human neuro-musculoskeletal system.

Yiming Liu

Yiming Liu received his B.Sc. degree in Automation Technology from Wuhan University (China) in 2016. In 2020, he received his M.Sc. degree in Electrical Engineering and Information Technology from the Technical University of Munich. His Master research focused on machine learning, control theory and robotics. Since October 2020, he joined the Chair of Neuromuscular Diagnostics as a PhD candidate, working on the control mechanism of human grasping movements.

Jing Zhang

Jing Zhang studied Biomechanics at the Beijing Normal University, and received her Masters in 2020. Her Masters research focused on the process of sensory decline and fall prevention in the elderly. She started her PhD at TUM in September 2021, working on how contextual information affects sensorimotor adaptation and sequential motor learning.
Email: jing.zhang (at)


Mao Ono

Mao Ono joined the lab in 2019 and is responsible for office management and administration. She works Monday to Friday mornings in room M214. 

email: ono (at)

phone: +49 89 289 24538

Visiting Members

Dr. Ian Howard

Dr. Howard is a visiting Professor at TUM for the summer of 2018


Postdoctoral fellows

Dr. Christian Stockinger (BMW group) - 2017


Student Interns

Hanna Hoogen - 2019

Stefanos Charalambous (Georgia Tech) - 2019

Isabelle Hoxha (TUM) - 2019

Maxsim Slivka (Vilnius Gediminas Technical University) - 2018

Robert Bauer (Regensburg) - 2017

Filipa Pereira (University of Porto) - 2017

Sarah Barreto Ornellas (Yale) - 2017