Diversity Award for diversity-related academic theses - submit proposals now!

[Translate to en:]
[Translate to en:] Die Diversitätsbeauftragte Andrea Göttler (rechts) mit den Preisträger_innen bei der Absolvia 2020

The Department of Sport and Health Sciences (SG) considers the topic of diversity to be a core task and promotes the conscious handling of diversity dimensions in all areas of action. For this reason, the Diversity Award for diversity-related scientific theses is announced annually. The aim is to scientifically strengthen the topic in connection with the fields of sport and health and to make it accessible to a broader public in academia.

Very good final theses (up to grade 1.7) by students of the Department can be submitted until 7 January 2022, together with the accompanying expert opinion and a short letter of recommendation, to the Diversity Officer Andrea Göttler (e-mail: andrea.goettler(at)tum.de, Tel.: 089 289 24694). The letter of recommendation to be enclosed should in particular describe how the work contributes to strengthening diversity-sensitive perspectives in health and sports sciences.

All academic papers submitted to the Department in 2021 are eligible. The prize rewards bachelor's, master's and admission theses as well as dissertations that are examined according to the scientific qualification level.

The Department's Diversity Committee, which consists of Prof. Dr. Elisabeth Wacker (Sociology of Diversity Unit), Prof. Dr. Ansgar Schwirtz (Associate Professorship of Biomechanics in sports), the Managing Director Dr. Till Lorenzen, the Gender Equality Officer Dr. Carolina Olufemi and the Diversity Officer Andrea Göttler, decides on the award.

The prize is endowed with a total of 2,000 euros and can be awarded to up to three persons. The Diversity Award will be presented at the Absolvia 2022 on 17 February next year.



Andrea Göttler
Diversity Officer
Georg-Brauchle-Ring 60/62
80992 München

phone: 089 289 24694
e-mail: andrea.goettler(at)tum.de

Text: Romy Schwaiger
Photo: Isabel Uphoff